Popout Notice
site image
site image
Rural-Sunset

       


Lyra Jean (Bush) Jones

November 9, 1930 ~ November 7, 2018 (age 87)

Lyra Jean Bush Jones, 87, passed away peacefully at Coventry House Inn, Oxford, NC on November 7, 2018.

She was born on November 9, 1930, daughter of the late Lon Lee Bush and Carrie Mae Ward Bush.  Jean was a lifetime resident of Russell County, Alabama and was retired from Jones Mercantile Company.  She loved the Lord and was a member of Hatchechubbee United Methodist Church.

Funeral services will be held at Hatchechubbee United Methodist Church on Monday, November 12, 2018 at 1:00 PM CST /  2:00 PM EST by Rev. Blythe Ethridge and Rev. Grant Parker.  A private interment will follow at the church cemetery.

Jean is survived by a son, Ron Jones and wife Kathy of Oxford, NC, daughter-in-law, Lyn Jones of Hatchechubbee, AL; five grandchildren: Jennifer Reed (Petey) of Oxford; Tiffany Honaker (Will) of Selma, NC; Charley Jones (Marlo) of Hatchechubbee; Joe Jones (Allyson) of Little Texas, AL and Jane Matthews (Spencer) of Tucson, AZ and eight great-grandchildren: Will, Wesley, Walker, Lyra Grace, Colt, Gavin, Liam and Leigh.

She is preceded in death by her husband of forty-six years, Charles William (Bill) Jones, Sr.; a son, Charles William (Billy) Jones, Jr.; and two siblings: Doug Bush and Margie Bush Chitwood.

Visitation will be held at Vance Memorial Chapel in Phenix City, AL, Sunday evening, November 11, 2018 from 5:00 - 7:00 PM CST / 6:00 - 8:00 PM EST and at other times at her home in Hatchechubbee.

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to Hatchechubbee United Methodist Church, 182 Shady Grove Rd., Hatchechubbee, AL, 36858.

© 2018 Vance Memorial Chapel. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS